Commission on Justice in Wales

Meeting held on 13 and 14 August 2018

At Swansea University School of Law, Singleton Park, Swansea

Present

The Right Honourable The Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd (Chair)
Simon Davies
Professor Elwen Evans QC
Dr Nerys Llewelyn Jones
Juliet Lyon CBE
Sarah Payne CBE
Professor Rick Rawlings
Peter Vaughan QPM CStJ DL
Sir Wyn Williams

In attendance

Andrew Felton, Secretary to the Commission
David Gordon, Secretariat Team
Rhys Thomas, Secretariat Team
Chris James, Secretariat Team
Michael Williams (part meeting on 14 August), PPM Advisor to Secretariat Team

The Commission met over two days in Swansea to take stock of the first stage of the Commission's work, to assess operational matters on the work streams (criminal justice; civil justice, family justice and tribunals; the legal sector and economy; education, training and research; and access to justice); consider the planning and approach to the second stage, on governance and jurisdiction; discuss the overall timetable and programme management; and meet with Dr Chris Marshall at the Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship in Law at Swansea University.