APPENDIX 1 ATODIAD 1

List 1: Unitary authority composition of other authorities and areas

Unitary authority	Former health authority (section 4)	Police force (section 8)	Fire authority (section 8)	Agriculture region (section 6) (a)
Isle of Anglesey	North Wales	North Wales	North Wales	North West Wales
Gwynedd	North Wales	North Wales	North Wales	North West Wales
Conwy	North Wales	North Wales	North Wales	North East Wales
Denbighshire	North Wales	North Wales	North Wales	North East Wales
Flintshire	North Wales	North Wales	North Wales	North East Wales
Wrexham	North Wales	North Wales	North Wales	North East Wales
Powys	Dyfed Powys	Dyfed-Powys	Mid & West Wales	Powys
Ceredigion	Dyfed Powys	Dyfed-Powys	Mid & West Wales	Ceredigion
Pembrokeshire	Dyfed Powys	Dyfed-Powys	Mid & West Wales	Pembrokeshire
Carmarthenshire	Dyfed Powys	Dyfed-Powys	Mid & West Wales	Carmarthenshire
Swansea	Morgannwg	South Wales	Mid & West Wales	South Wales
Neath Port Talbot	Morgannwg	South Wales	Mid & West Wales	South Wales
Bridgend	Morgannwg	South Wales	South Wales	South Wales
The Vale of Glamorgan	Bro Taf	South Wales	South Wales	South Wales
Cardiff	Bro Taf	South Wales	South Wales	South Wales
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff	Bro Taf	South Wales	South Wales	South Wales
Merthyr Tydfil	Bro Taf	South Wales	South Wales	South Wales
Caerphilly	Gwent	Gwent	South Wales	South Wales
Blaenau Gwent	Gwent	Gwent	South Wales	South Wales
Torfaen	Gwent	Gwent	South Wales	South Wales
Monmouthshire	Gwent	Gwent	South Wales	South Wales
Newport	Gwent	Gwent	South Wales	South Wales

⁽a) First adopted in Welsh Agricultural Statistics 1997.

List 2: Unitary authority composition of other areas

Unitary authority	NUTS3 area (a)	NUTS2 area (a)	Assembly committee/ economic region (b)
Isle of Anglesey Gwynedd Conwy	Isle of Anglesey Gwynedd Conwy and Denbighshire	West Wales and the Valleys West Wales and the Valleys West Wales and the Valleys	North Wales North Wales North Wales
Denbighshire	Conwy and Denbighshire	West Wales and the Valleys	North Wales
Flintshire	Flintshire and Wrexham Flintshire and Wrexham	East Wales	North Wales
Wrexham		East Wales	North Wales
Powys	Powys	East Wales	Mid Wales
Ceredigion	South West Wales	West Wales and the Valleys	Mid Wales
Pembrokeshire	South West Wales	West Wales and the Valleys	South-west Wales
Carmarthenshire	South West Wales	West Wales and the Valleys	South-west Wales
Swansea	Swansea	West Wales and the Valleys	South-west Wales
Neath Port Talbot	Bridgend and Neath Port Talbot	West Wales and the Valleys	South-west Wales
Bridgend	Bridgend and Neath Port Talbot	West Wales and the Valleys	South East Wales
The Vale of Glamorgan Cardiff	Cardiff and Vale of Glamorgan	East Wales	South East Wales
	Cardiff and Vale of Glamorgan	East Wales	South East Wales
Rhondda, Cynon, Taff	Central Valleys	West Wales and the Valleys	South East Wales
Merthyr Tydfil	Central Valleys	West Wales and the Valleys	South East Wales
Caerphilly	Gwent Valleys	West Wales and the Valleys	South East Wales
Blaenau Gwent	Gwent Valleys	West Wales and the Valleys	South East Wales
Torfaen	Gwent Valleys	West Wales and the Valleys	South East Wales
Monmouthshire	Monmouthshire and Newport	East Wales	South East Wales
Newport	Monmouthshire and Newport	East Wales	South East Wales

⁽a) Announced by the Office for National Statistics on 29 June 1998 - News Release ONS(98)199; NUTS = Nomenclature of Units for Territorial Statistics adopted by the Statistical Office of the European Union. NUTS1 is Wales, NUTS4 areas are individual unitary authorities and NUTS5 areas are wards.

⁽b) These also the Training and Enterprise Council (TEC) areas form April 1999. For Gwynedd the former Districts of Arfon and Dwyfor are in North Wales region and the former district of Meirionydd in the Mid Wales region.